Maura Kelly under fire for “fat” people comments

November 1, 2010

On last Wednesday’s episode of The View, the women on the show brought up sex and relationship writer, Maura Kelly, of Marie Claire, and her view on obese people. Kelly said in a recent blog that she would be “grossed out” watching “two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other,” just the same as she would be if she saw a “very, very fat person simply walk across the room.”

This statement was referencing the new sitcom, Mike and Molly, a show about an obese couple who fall in love at an Overeaters Anonymous meeting on CBS.

In a piece on Opinionati.com as they covered this topic Thursday:

“No one who is as fat as Mike and Molly can be healthy,” Kelly writes in the post that, with over 1600 comments to date, has caused an internet fury…

….At the end of her post, Kelly asks readers, ”Do you think I’m being an insensitive jerk?” And the Internet responded with an equally resounding “yes.”

There are people out there that really don’t have to worry about being “fat” or “obese.” It’s just not in their genes. But for most of us, with the cheap, unhealthy food choices given on a daily basis, it’s something that has to be worked on. And even though there is tons of information out there on making healthier choices, it’s not always easy.

Most of the time, there are issues behind overeating. The stories I’ve heard from patients are heartbreaking at times…abuse, cheating, etc, and food was the easiest thing to turn to. Maura Kelly admitted she suffers from anorexia. People have different reasons for the actions they choose. Not everyone can just stop eating.

From a health standpoint, yes, being overweight and obese is not healthy. But it’s not something we can judge people on. You never know what is going on in their life. For people in the media such as Kelly, it’s especially important to have compassion on those that are different.

There are alternative ways to get inside and see where the problems come from. They’re used in my practice everyday. With the combination of things such as acupuncture, aromatherapy, energy-work, and education on exercise and nutrition…the Whole Being Plan, along with procedures such as Tickle Lipo, regular lipo, and the array of other procedures that can help get the body to a healthy place, positive changes can occur.

The most important thing in all of this would be to show compassion and help educate rather than judge. What are your thoughts?

To see the episode, click here. The commentary is about six minutes in if you would like to see it.

Schedule your consultation today!
Follow us on Twitter
Join us on Facebook

One Response to “Maura Kelly under fire for “fat” people comments”

  1. jamisings said

    As a fat woman I have to endure tons of hatred. I’ve had food thrown at me. I’ve gotten hate mail. I finally had to disable all commenting on my own blog because 99% of the “comments” were things like “U SUCK!” and “U R A UGLY COW!”

    I have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. I keep getting told my only hope to lose weight is gastric bypass. I’d rather be fat.

    Yes, I know I’m morbidly obese. (246, I should be 135. But to be fair I used to be 295. I just can’t get past 240.)

    My mom had back surgery for spinal stenosis and cysts in her spine. So she has to spend part of her time in a wheelchair. She’s 220 pounds herself. People will snidely remark that she’s only in a chair because she’s “fat and lazy.” It’s been so bad at times people have actually THROWN things at her legs to see if she could move them.

    Who the heck throws things at anyone? Let alone a handicapped senior citizen?

    The oldest of my 3 brothers was in a very bad motorcycle accident and has a steel plate in one leg. He also fell off a ladder and tore up his ankles. He’s almost 300 pounds. No matter what the weather, he wears shorts so people can see the mass of scar tissue on his leg so they can’t say anything nasty about a fat man parking in a handicapped slot.

    Then you’ve got people like Maura Kelly saying things, making them worse.

    It’s because of people like her I never reported that a group of boys were sexually assaulting me on a daily basis in jr. high. I was convinced no one would believe me. After all, I’m fat, and “fat girls don’t get raped/molested/assaulted. Only the skinny, pretty girls do.” I wonder how many fat rape victims will now not report being attacked because Maura’s article have convinced them that no one will believe them – simply because they are fat.

    I think Maura needs some serious therapy and sensitivity training. I also think the world at large needs to be taught that people are fat for many reasons, not just being lazy and eating wrong. PCOS, depression, medications – one of my mom’s friends is fat because she actually has a tumor on her thyroid – it could only be partially removed so she’ll never be thin.

    That’s what I think. I’m sure someone will come along to tell me I’m wrong.

Leave a comment